Animated, curriculum-based content includes flash-based movies, quizzes, experiments, timelines, activity pages, and much more covering hundreds of topics within Math, Science, Social Studies, English, Technology, Arts & Music, and Health.
Links students to country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture. In-depth reports covering 200+ countries, the United States, and Canada
Databases include: Issues & Controversies, Ancient & Midieval History, Great Empires, Life in America, Blooms Literary Reference, Health Reference Center, World Religions, Science online and Classroom Video on Demand.
Reputable, authoritative, and appropriate content that brings children aged 6-14 the world in a way they've never seen it before. Fun and substantive, National Geographic Kids will take them on amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space.
ResearchRocket provides relevant articles covering a variety of topics in all subject areas. This resource contains articles from credible magazines, newspapers and other information sources — all age and reading-level appropriate for middle school. Use this resource to find information for classroom assignments and research projects. Teachers can locate suitable content to support lesson plans and classroom discussions.
NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. NoveList's expertise in books and reading means that you'll always get the best help for finding just the right books.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience. Use the password for GALE/Infotrac for this database at home.
Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history. Use the password for GALE/Infotac for this database.
World Book online provides the classic encyclopedia "Kids" for elementary level and "Student" for middle school and "Advanced" for upper school students. Access is available in Spanish with the "Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos." New this year are timelines and Ebooks. The ebook collection provides full access to students k-12 and new books are being added on a regular basis.
E-Books and Audiobooks via Overdrive
Go to Calhoun's Sora site OR download the Sora app and search for The Calhoun School in "My Libraries". Use your Calhoun username to sign-in.